Home > Cartography, Spatial Database > Unable to delete representations – Problem solved

Unable to delete representations – Problem solved

What I wanted to do

Test Representation in ArcGIS

What I have

  • Oracle 11g
  • ArcSDE 9.3
  • ArcGIS for Desktop (according to recent ESRI product naming announcement)

Issue

Here is what happened:

I was learning how to use representation. So I created a representation on a feature class in my SDE database on Oracle. Once the representation is created, in ArcCatalog I looked into the attribute table of the feature class and saw two columns: ruleID and override. I right clicked on the columns and delete them. And then I went to the properties of the feature class and delete the representation from Representation tab.

Now annoying things happened: I restart ArcCatalog and open the properties of the feature class, navigate to Representation, nothing shows up in the list, which is normal because I created and then deleted the representation. But if I click new and create a new representation, the one that had been created and deleted would show up together with the new representation in the list. If I select the ghost representation and try to delete it, I get the Unable to delete representation notice. What’s worse is that this ghost now shows up in all OTHER feature classes representations tab and I can’t get rid of it! Even if I remove this feature class the ghost representation is still there.

Solution

I haven’t seen similar issues posted on the Internet but the solutions to  many representation issues involve do something about an Oracle system table named SDE.GDB_ExtentsionDatasets. So I looked into this table in Oracle and found the dead body of that representation ghost. After removing the record, the ghost went away!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

